it is well

This is from the hymn “It Is Well With My Soul,” my dad’s favorite hymn of all time — and probably mine, too.  Read these lines and scriptures carefully.  Let them marinate in your heart.  Think about them.  Chew on them.  God is good!

When peace, like a river, attendeth my way,
When sorrows like sea billows roll;
Whatever my lot, Thou has taught me to say,
It is well, it is well, with my soul.

Psalm 4:8 says, “In peace I will lie down and sleep, for you alone, Lord, make me dwell in safety.”  The Lord reigns; let his people be glad in him!  True joy depends not on the swiftly changing circumstances of this world but on our God: and our God never changes!  Under his wings is the refreshing shade of peace and calm.

Though Satan should buffet, though trials should come,
Let this blessed assurance control,
That Christ has regarded my helpless estate,
And hath shed His own blood for my soul.

Job 22:21 says, “Submit to God and be at peace with him; in this way prosperity will come to you.”  Know that the Lord is God; his ways are higher than our own.  Rest in his true goodness and sovereign wisdom!

My sin, oh, the bliss of this glorious thought!
My sin, not in part but the whole,
Is nailed to the cross, and I bear it no more,
Praise the Lord, praise the Lord, O my soul!

Ephesians 6:15 calls this “the gospel of peace.”  Oh the peace that comes when one realizes that their sin is not their responsibility anymore — that despite all they have done, God has redeemed them for himself!  This is peace beyond that tranquility of the mind; this is peace of the eternal soul.

And Lord, haste the day when my faith shall be sight,
The clouds be rolled back as a scroll;
The trump shall resound, and the Lord shall descend,
Even so, it is well with my soul.

Isaiah 9:6 says Christ is the PRINCE OF PEACE.  Imagine being able to honestly say, “it is well with my soul.”  How deep this peace reaches, to the depths of the heart, mind, and body, when circumstances demand anything but peace!  But no, we have wellness beyond this world’s understanding.  It is all because of Jesus that we have peace in the Lord, that we can stand before God on the last day and rejoice in his victory!

One Reply to “it is well”

Leave a Reply

