“if you will”

And when he saw Jesus, he fell on his face and begged him, “Lord, if you will, you can make me clean.”  And Jesus stretched out his hand and touched him, saying, “I will; be clean.”  And immediately the leprosy left him.

Luke 5:12-13

 

This was a leper, an outcast, with a disease that wouldn’t just go away.  He was sick, unclean, for life.  But he had faith that Jesus could make him well.  And that was what changed him.

In his love and compassion, Jesus touched him.

It’s almost as if Jesus said “I will” like it was obvious.  Of course I will, my love.  I made you.  If you were the only person on the earth, I would still take your sin upon myself and die for you.  You asked; of course I will make you clean.

What amazing mercy Jesus displays!  He is the manifestation of God’s love for us.  He reaches out to those who beg for his power!

Leave a Reply

