Why I Won’t Be Seeing (or Reviewing) The Shack Movie – Tim Challies

The Shack presents God in human flesh. It makes the infinite finite, the invisible visible, the omnipotent impotent, the all-present local, the spiritual material.

Source: Why I Won’t Be Seeing (or Reviewing) The Shack Movie – Tim Challies

What a great way to look at the movie coming out soon based on the controversial book The Shack.  I understand many people have been helped by this book, and I want to be gracious, but I tried reading The Shack and had to put it down before I was a hundred pages in.  I cannot read a book that portrays God as anything he has created.  Much less can I watch a movie that will do the same thing visually!

So no, I will not watch The Shack movie.  God is far more than two women and a man.  He is holy.  Holy is a word that encompasses an idea we can’t even understand.  Holy means that God is completely set apart, completely different, completely out of our understanding.  He is God.  I will not watch a movie or read a book that makes any less of him — that is idolatry.  And if the best way to show something is by breaking one of the ten commandments, should it really be shown at all?

This is my personal opinion on the book and movie The Shack.  I know it’s a highly controversial book, and many respected Christian leaders have differing opinions on it.  I do not want to offend anyone who loves this book; I just want to make you think more about it.  Please, if you have any thoughts or opinions, comment below and we can discuss them!
2 Replies to “Why I Won’t Be Seeing (or Reviewing) The Shack Movie – Tim Challies”

  1. Hello, young one.
    I have not yet read the shack but intend to due to it’s divisive following. From my understanding of the book and your review God’s portrayal/nature is the source of such passionate support and opposition. To not belabor you with an uninformed response, I just had one question concerning your stance: “I cannot read a book that portrays God as anything he has created.” The question is as follows: didn’t God (creator) become man (created) in the person of Jesus? I’m aware that explaining the Trinity is difficult to explain (in which my belief that the book is struggling in that area as well). So my concern, firstly, is for your phrasing. Maybe soon we can have an informed conversation of such things 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow, thank you so much for the feedback. I appreciate it and value what you’ve said! And I can see how the way I worded it was definitely misleading. I apologize.
      I believe Jesus is fully God and fully man — therefore, while he as a man was fully created by God, he was also somehow fully God at the same time! So he is definitely an exception to what I was saying. I am very cautious of anything that attempts to say God is a creature — other than the Bible, which portrays God as the Son. Does that make sense?
      Admittedly, it is hard to find the right words to say what I mean! Thank you for pointing that out! Please let’s continue to talk about this!

      Like

Leave a Reply

